Mother’s Day

Today, I want to interrupt my Paleo Diet series and do a little tribute for my  mother on Mother’s Day. My dad and I bought her some gifts to show our appreciation of her and what she does but I thought it would be fitting to write a blog post to tell her, and those that read my blog, how much I love and cherish her. Maybe then she can begin to realize how amazing she is.

I am in awe of my mother. Truly. My mother came from a lot less and worked really hard to provide for her children. She married a man who wouBearld be her equal, and who would be the father that her children deserved. My mom is the strongest woman I know. She is the strength in our family and I am unbelievably blessed to have her not only as a mother but also as a best friend. She is completely selfless. No matter what her hurts were, she always put her husband and her children first. Throughout my life, she has always sacrificed to give us everything. I know that my biggest cheerleader will always be my mom. Never in my entire life has she ever made me feel like I couldn’t do something. She always told me how talented I was or how beautiful I was or how incredibly much she loved me. I have never been the perfect daughter and sometimes probably not deserving of her unconditional love but she always gave it. Always. Heck, everything she does, good and bad, she does for the love of her children. Her love is amazing and fierce. You know the old advice that says that you should never get between a mother bear and her cubs. That bear is my mom, only I think my mom might be even more protective and a little scarier when her children are threatened.

As I’ve become an adult, I’ve gotten to know my mom as a human being and a person instead of just as a mom. I see all her faults and all her strengths, and I still stand amazed. She has taught me to be the woman that I am today. Strong, confident, a little too stubborn, and someone who believes in right and wrong and will stand for it no matter what. I’m getting married in a few weeks and I hope to emulate my parent’s marriage in all their best ways. They have been happily married for 24 years, and they owe it to God and a lot of hard work. My mother loves my father unconditionally. She honors him daily. She laughs at his jokes and shares in his dreams. They still hold hands when they walk together. They need each other completely even after almost a quarter century. I want to love my soon to be husband as my mom loves my dad. With all the love, commitment, and admiration that they have for each other.

I am so proud of my mom. She has come so far in her life. I’ve seen her at her best and worst moments and only hope that I have the strength of character that she has to come through the trials and tribulations of motherhood and still be standing tall at the end of it. She held my hand on my first day of Kindergarten. She bought me flowers for every single play or performance I ever did. She tightened the belt and saved money to make sure that I could have voice lessons, and nice clothes, and a car in high school. She watched me graduate high school. And she did the bravest thing she could and stood back when I moved out on my own to try to prove to myself that I could do it. She helped me move into my first apartment. She fell in love with my fiancé and blessed our engagement. She took me to the bridal shop so we could pick out my wedding dress. She will be there on my wedding day when I am feeling just as nervous as I was on my first day of Kindergarten. She will tell me how much she loves me before my dad walks me down the aisle. And she will be there for me through everything, big or small. God has blessed me. Not only with amazing parents, but also amazing examples of the kind of wife and mother I want to be.

Thank you, Mom, so much for all that you have done and all that you will do. Thank you for helping me plan this wedding, and making me the princess and being supportive even when we disagree. And thank you so much for your unconditional love that no one but another mother could possibly understand. You will always be my friend and my anchor in any storm.

God could not be everywhere, and therefore he made mothers. ~Rudyard Kipling

Leave a Reply

